Membership of the Authority

The Authority is governed by its members under the chairmanship of the Chief Minister of Sabah, as outlined in section 8 of the Sabah Economic Development and Investment Authority 2009 


The Authority consists of the following members:

  • A Chairman, who shall be the Chief Minister;
  • Two Deputy Chairman, who shall be appointed by the Minister;
  • State Secretary;
  • Secretary General of the Federal Ministry of Finance or his representative;
  • Permanent Secretary of the State Ministry of Finance;
  • Director General of the Federal Economic Planning Unit or his representative;
  • Director of the State Economic Planning Unit; and
  • Not more than five other members to be appointed by the Minister.

The Chief Executive shall be the Secretary to the Authority

Members of the Authority


YAB Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Hajiji bin Haji Noor

Chief Minister of Sabah
cum Minister of Finance, Sabah

Deputy Chairman

YB Datuk Seri Panglima Dr. Joachim Gunsalam

Deputy Chief Minister II
cum Minister of L
ocal Government and Housing, Sabah




Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Mohd Zuki bin Ali

Chief Secretary to the Government

YB Datuk Seri Panglima Sr. Haji Safar bin Untong

Sabah State Secretary

YBhg. Dato’ Nor Azmie bin Diron

Director General, Economic Planning Unit
Prime Minister’s Department

Yang Arif Datuk Nor Asiah binti Mohd Yusof

Sabah State Attorney-General

YBhg. Datuk Jasmine Teo

State Economic Planning Unit (UPEN)

YBhg. Datuk Mohd Sofian Alfian Nair

Permanent Secretary
Minister of Finance, Sabah

YBhg. Datuk Sr. Bernard Liew Chau Min

State Department of Land and Survey


YBhg. Datuk Seri Panglima Haji Hashim Paijan

Chief Executive of SEDIA

SEDIA Committees


The Authority may, from time to time, establish such committees on such terms as it considers necessary or expedient to assist the Authority in the performance of its functions and duties under this Enactment.


The Authority may elect any of its members to be the chairman of any committee


The Authority may appoint any person to be a member of any committee.


Membership of a committee established under subsection (1) may include one or more individuals from private sector.


The provisions of the Second Schedule shall apply to a committee.


The Authority may, from time to time, by order published in the Gazette, amend the Second Schedule relating to a committee

The following committees have been established to assist the Authority in performing its functions:

  • Implementation Co-ordination Committee
  • Development Planning Committee
  • Nomination, Establishment and Remuneration Committee
  • Finance and Investment Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • SEDIA Procurement Board

The Chief Executive

The Chief Executive is appointed by the Authority, and has been entrusted with the following responsibilities:

  • The general conduct, administration and management of the functions, activities and day-to-day affairs of the Authority;
  • The performance of such functions and exercise of such duties as delegated by the Authority; and
  • The carrying out of the decisions of the Authority.

The Chief Executive shall also perform such other duties as the Authority may, from time to time, direct and shall act under the general authority and direction of the Authority in discharging his duties. The Chief Executive shall have general control of the officers and staff of the Authority.

Sabah Economic Development and Investment Authority Fund

The authority to commit any financial obligation or otherwise, solely, partially or directly on the account of the Authority lies wholly with the Authority subject to policies, procedures and guidelines approved by the Authority, the Government and the Federal Government.

Section 14 (1) of the Enactment provides for the establishment of a fund to be known as the “Sabah Economic Development and Investment Authority Fund” to be administered and controlled by the Authority.

Section 15 of the Enactment specifies that the Fund shall be expended for the following purposes:

  • Disbursing funds received from the Government or the Federal Government to the relevant implementing Government Entities for the Sabah Development Corridor;
  • Performing or discharging the functions and duties of the Authority;
  • Paying for the remuneration, allowances or other expenses of members, the Chief Executive, officers and servants of the Authority;
  • Undertaking approved and lawful investments, and acquisition of shares or interests in companies or property movable or immovable for the purposes of the Enactment; and
  • Paying any other expenses lawfully incurred in the discharged or performances of its functions and duties under this Enactment.